SWEET SUNDAY at SON-GlO

Coppery Orange-Red seems to be the color of the season.

Coppery Orange-Red seems to be the color of the season.2052


Hickory nuts

Do I need to tell you life is hectic and too busy?  I am sure you experience that as much as we do.  My husband of 56 years and I live on our 75 acre farm named SON-GLO. We have; empty nest, livestock, farming duties and equipment, a few pets, our home, but most importantly family.

We have children who have grown and moved on to start and maintain their own homes and care for their own families, so the numbers of our family members keep increasing!  It is a treat when we can arrange (or just happen) to be together again for any length of time.

Yesterday, was a splendidly beautiful autumn day and turned out to be especially nice here at Son-Glo for several reasons; After wonderful church services,we had lunch with a good friend, visits with both our children, hugs from a beautiful grandchild, and playtime with a great-grandchild. Now, listen, it doesn’t get any better than that! Simple things like finding colored leaves, jumping in puddles, turning over rocks, chasing crickets, and of course riding a horse or listening to a calf moo, can become magical times in the eyes of a two-year-old.

Understand, I so appreciate my home but the ones that I share it with is what makes it become my happy place. And so today, even after losing my mother this year, I am reminded our family cycles on just as the words of Ruth 4: 14 & 15 tell us, ” He will renew your life and sustain you in your old age.”   As I travel this earth’s sod I plan to make the most of it ….  easy, difficult, rough or smooth, I shall  cherish the ones who come along beside me to travel a step at a time.   Until next time, DiAnne

About Painted Hammers and Fried Okra

I hand- paint wooden hammers and have them in most states in the USA. They are very popular as gifts. I have one in the museum of hammers in Alaska. I live on a farm and raise a vegetable garden. Being in the mid western part of the US my family likes fried vegetables, especially fried okra.That is how this blog got the unique name it has.
This entry was posted in Life on Planet Earth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

